Conemaugh Health System’s Scott Becker announces retirement

JOHNSTOWN , PA – CEO Scott Becker is retiring effective Sept. 30. Becker, a 30- year healthcare veteran, has successfully guided Conemaugh through some of the most evolutionary times in healthcare. Most notably, Becker led the four-hospital system through a strategic partnership with Duke LifePoint Healthcare. Conemaugh Health System and Duke LifePoint joined forces in 2014 with a shared interested […]

Bucknell University SB DC, Buttonwood Campground to be honored with small business award

LEWISBURG , PA – The Bucknell University Small Business Development Center will be awarded a Pennsylvania Small Business Development Center Excellence and Innovation Award from the U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) Eastern Pennsylvania District Office. Additionally, Dennis, Nancy, Ryan and Michael McFarland, owners of the Buttonwood Campground in Mifflintown, will receive the Eastern Pennsylvania District Family-Owned Small Business of the […]

Mount Nittany Health announces new My Health app

ST ATE COLLEGE, PA –MountNittany Health is excited to announce the release of its “My Health” mobile app. Designed to make managing your healthcare easier, the My Health app allows you to conveniently store all of your healthcare contacts in one location. You can search through a provider database, import contacts from your phone, or manually add healthcare contact information, […]

Urish Popeck & Co appoint new partner

State College, PA – Urish Popeck & Co., LLC recently appointed Kevin M. McGarry, CPA as partner with the regional accounting and consulting firm. The appointment was effective Jan. 1, 2016. Kevin is a Penn State accounting graduate who has been with the firm’s State College office for thirteen years. He leads the business services group and provides emerging to […]

Stephen C. Gildea as CEO of Tyrone Regional Health Network

TYRON E, PA – The board of directors at Tyrone Regional Health Network has announced the resignation of CEO Stephen C. Gildea. Gildea served as chief executive officer at Tyrone Hospital, now known as Tyrone Regional Health Network since 2009. Kelly Wike, president of the TRHN board of directors said Gildea’s resignation was for personal reasons and to give him […]

Feature article, TV commercial honored with 2016 Cuppie Awards

WILLI AMS PORT ORT, PA – Thomas Speicher, writer/video editor for Pennsylvania College of Technology, took home two Silver Cuppie Awards recently in a competition sponsored by the College and University Public Relations and Associated Professionals. A Silver Cuppie was awarded to Penn College in the Writing – Feature Article category for “Clean Water to Go,” which appeared in the […]

Dr. Adam Budny gives lecture on internal fixation for foot surgery

Altoona, PA University Orthopedics Center’s (UOC) Adam Budny, DPM, gave a lecture on “Internal Fixation for Foot Surgery” at the Foot and Ankle Center of Richmond VA, on the campus of Johnston-Willis Hospital. Director Mitchell Waskin, the medical director of the Foot & Ankle Center, hosted the seminar. The topic covered advanced options for fixation of surgical procedures in foot […]

Tyrone Regional Health Network announces new CEO

Tyrone, PA – Joseph J. Peluso has been appointed as CEO of Tyrone Regional Health Network. Peluso succeeds Stephen C. Gildea who resigned to accept another position. Sharon Fisher has served as Interim CEO since his departure. Peluso previously served as president and CEO of J.C. Blair Memorial Hospital in Huntingdon. He spent the majority of his career at Westmoreland […]

2016-04-22 E-Edition

… The rest of this story is only available to registered users. Please Subscribe to continue reading. Your support is appreciated!   Subscribe Now If you already have an account, please login below. Username Password Remember Me     Forgot Password

Lycoming College biology professor earns neuroscience award

WILLI AMS PORT ORT, PA – Mary Morrison, Ph.D., professor of biology at Lycoming College, received the Carol Ann Paul Educator of the Year Award from the Faculty for Undergraduate Neuroscience organization. The national award recognizes a member of the organization for notable efforts to promote the effective teaching of neuroscience at the undergraduate level. Along with her teaching credentials, […]